Office for Regulatory Innovation and Assistance Logo
Information Center (800) 917-0043 or help@oria.wa.gov

Regulatory Handbook -> Agricultural Product Requirements -> Agent's License under Commission Merchant Act

Agent's License under Commission Merchant Act

(Agricultural Products)

What is the Purpose of this License?
The purpose of the Commission Merchants Act is to protect producers, buyers, and sellers of agricultural products against illegal practices. The Agent's License is specifically for those authorized to receive, contract for, or solicit or negotiate the consignment or purchases of agricultural products on behalf of a licensed commission merchant, dealer, broker or cash buyer.
Who Issues this License?
Washington State Department of Agriculture
What Activities Require this License?
Individuals and businesses who are authorized to receive, contract for, or solicit or negotiate the consignment or purchases of agricultural products on behalf of a licensed commission merchant, dealer, broker, or cash buyer.
How Much Will this License Cost?
$66

A 25% late renewal penalty of the total license amount is assessed if renewal is received after December 31st of each year.
Where Can I Get the Application for this License?
The application which is called 'Application for Agent's License' is online and can be accessed at https://agr.wa.gov/Inspection/CommissionMerchants/docs/Form-ApplicationForAgentsLicense7031.pdf.
Do I Need to Include Anything with my Application?
Payment of the license fee of $66 is required with the application.
Is the Decision on my License Dependent on Anything Besides the Information in my Application?
No.
How Long Will it Take to Review my Application?
Completed applications are reviewed within approximately seven days.
Where do I Submit my Application?
Mail completed application to:
    WSDA
    P.O. Box 42560
    Olympia, WA 98504-2560
How Long is my License Valid?
The license period is January 1 through December 31 of each year.
What is the Appeal Process for the License?
Upon notice by the Department to deny or revoke a license, a person may request a hearing under Chapter 34.05 RCW, the Administrative Procedures Act.
Where can I get permitting assistance?
Helpdesk phone: 360-902-1857
Subject matter expert phone: 509-249-6961
Subject matter expert email: bradke@agr.wa.gov
Statewide Contact:
Washington State Department of Agriculture
Weights and Measures Program
1111 Washington Street SE
PO Box 42560
Olympia, WA 98504-2560
Telephone: (360) 902-1800
Toll Free: 1-800-833-6388
Fax: (360) 902-2092
Website: http://agr.wa.gov/
* Permit information last updated 11/18/2019
[v2]
© 2021 Governor's Office for Regulatory Innovation and Assistance