Office for Regulatory Innovation and Assistance Logo
Information Center (800) 917-0043 or help@oria.wa.gov

Regulatory Handbook -> General Requirements -> Commercial Weighing and Measuring Device Registration

Commercial Weighing and Measuring Device Registration

What is the Purpose of this Registration?
To provide weights and measures officials accurate information on the numbers, types and locations of weighing and measuring devices so that inspections may be scheduled and completed.
Who Issues this Registration?
Department of Revenue
What Activities Require this Registration?
Any business using a weighing or measuring device for commercial purposes is required to register the device(s) annually.
How Much Will this Registration Cost?
Fee per device is:

  • Small Scale: $16
  • Intermediate Scale: $60
  • Large Scale: $120
  • Railroad Track Scale: $1,200
  • Liquid Fuel Meter - Low: $16
  • Liquid Fuel Meter - Intermediate: $50
  • Liquid Fuel Meter - High: $75
  • LPG - Small: $40
  • LPG - Large: $80
  • Mass Flow Meters: $300
  • Taxi Meters: $40
  • Fabric or Cordage Meter: $15

If you are registering a new device type to your business license, Business Licensing Services will add a $19 documentation fee. If you are adding additional devices to the type you already have registered, there is no documentation fee.

Failure to register your device(s) may result in civil penalties of $100 per device.
Where Can I Get the Application for this Registration?
The application is online and can be accessed at http://bls.dor.wa.gov/weightsandmeasures.aspx.
Do I Need to Include Anything with my Application?
Payment is required with application.
Is the Decision on my Registration Dependent on Anything Besides the Information in my Application?
No.
How Long Will it Take to Review my Application?
Applications submitted online take an average of 3 to 5 business days to be processed and applications submitted by mail take an average of 7 to 10 to be processed. Customers will receive an updated business license within two weeks of device payment.
Where do I Submit my Application?
Mail your completed application and addendum with a check or money order payable to "Department of Revenue" for the fees to:
    State of Washington Business Licensing Service PO Box 9034 Olympia, WA 98507-9034
For information on how to file online or to access the application and addendum, go to http://bls.dor.wa.gov/weightsandmeasures.aspx.
How Long is my Registration Valid?
The device registration is valid for 12 months.
What is the Appeal Process for the Registration?
Upon notice by the Department of Agriculture to deny, revoke, or suspend a license, a person may request a hearing under chapter 34.05 RCW.
Notes / Comments:
If you have any questions, contact:

Where can I get permitting assistance?
Helpdesk phone: DOR Helpdesk: 800-451-7985
Subject matter expert email: bls@dor.wa.gov
Statewide Contact:
Washington State Department of Agriculture
Headquarters
1111 Washington Street SE
PO Box 42560
Olympia, WA 98504-2560
Telephone: (360) 902-1800
Fax: (360) 902-2092
Email: poffice@agr.wa.gov
Website: http://agr.wa.gov/
* Permit information last updated 11/18/2019
[v2]
© 2021 Governor's Office for Regulatory Innovation and Assistance