Office for Regulatory Innovation and Assistance Logo
Information Center (800) 917-0043 or help@oria.wa.gov

Regulatory Handbook -> General Requirements -> Feeding and Grazing Permit

Feeding and Grazing Permit

(Pasture to Pasture)

What is the Purpose of this Permit?
The Feeding and Grazing Permit allows cattle to move across state lines for grazing and to return to Washington. Cattle moving between states under a Feeding and Grazing Permit approved by both states are exempt from a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection as long as there is no change of ownership of the cattle. Idaho is the exception; Idaho still requires a certificate of veterinary inspection.
Who Issues this Permit?
Washington State Department of Agriculture
What Activities Require this Permit?
Any person, business or entity that moves cattle in and out of Washington to an adjoining state to graze without obtaining a health certificate or certificate of veterinary inspection must obtain a Feeding and Grazing Permit.
How Much Will this Permit Cost?
There is no cost for this permit.
Where Can I Get the Application for this Permit?
The application which is called 'Application for Feeding and Grazing Permit (Pasture to Pasture)' is online and can be accessed at https://agr.wa.gov/forms-and-publications/forms/animal-health-forms.
Do I Need to Include Anything with my Application?
A copy of the negative Trichomoniasis test for bulls 16 months of age and older that are moving on the permit.
Is the Decision on my Permit Dependent on Anything Besides the Information in my Application?
Yes, a positive Trichomoniasis test would influence the decision for that herd.
How Long Will it Take to Review my Application?
The permit requires processing by both states and the department cannot control the time taken by the other state. The average response time by the Washington Department of Agriculture, based on 2018 data, is 1 day providing all requirements have been completed including the processed permit from the other state
Where do I Submit my Application?
Fax: 360-902-2087
Email: ahealth@agr.wa.gov

WSDA Animal Health Division
PO Box 42577
Olympia, WA 98504-2577
How Long is my Permit Valid?
6 months
What is the Appeal Process for the Permit?
Upon notice by the Department to deny or revoke a permit, a person may request a hearing under Chapter 34.05 RCW, the Administrative Procedures Act.
Permit Timeliness Results

Permit Timeliness data collection is in response to a State Auditor’s Performance Audit and RCW 43.42A. Each regulatory agency developed a plan to improve permit clarity, predictability, and timeliness. Each agency considers the customers experience to ensure permit assistance is simple to use, easy to access, and designed in a customer-friendly manner. Agencies report progress to the Governor’s Office for Regulatory Innovation and Assistance (ORIA). ORIA prepares and distributes reports, with participation from the State Auditor’s Office and Results Washington. See latest report here: https://www.oria.wa.gov/ORIA-2018-PermitTimelinessProgressReport.pdf.

All permits submitted for reporting were entered into this Regulatory Handbook. Here are the results of the performance data:

Estimated Time Required By the Agency to Process a Permit Application (Definition)
Average number of days from Receipt to Complete: 2.9
Maximum number of days from Receipt to Complete: 1.9

Estimated Time Required By the Agency to Issue a Permit Decision (Definition)
Average number of days from Complete Application to Decision: 1
Maximum number of days from Complete Application to Decision: 1

(Summary results based on 121 submittals in 2020)

Where can I get permitting assistance?
Helpdesk phone: (360) 902-1878
Subject matter expert phone: (360) 902-1878
Subject matter expert email: ahealth@agr.wa.gov
Statewide Contact:
Washington State Department of Agriculture
Animal Services Division
1111 Washington Street SE
PO Box 42577
Olympia, WA 98504-2577
Telephone: (360) 902-1878
Fax: (360) 902-2092
Email: ahealth@agr.wa.gov
Website: http://agr.wa.gov
* Permit information last updated 7/7/2020
[v2]
© 2021 Governor's Office for Regulatory Innovation and Assistance