Office for Regulatory Innovation and Assistance Logo
Information Center (800) 917-0043 or help@oria.wa.gov

Regulatory Handbook -> Agricultural Product Requirements -> Marijuna Infused Edibles Processor

Marijuna Infused Edibles Processor

(MIE Processor)

What is the Purpose of this Specialty License?
The MIE Processor license with the WSDA Food Safety Program, when combined with Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board marijuna licensing, allows firms to produce marijuana infused edible food products for wholesale sales.
Who Issues this Specialty License?
Business Licensing Service
What Activities Require this Specialty License?
The MIE Processor specialty license with the WSDA Food Safety Program is required when a firm wants to produce and sell wholesale edible products that contain cannabis (marijuana, hemp) ingredients.
How Much Will this Specialty License Cost?
$895 plus any Business Licensing Service fees that may apply
Where Can I Get the Application for this Specialty License?
The application which is called 'Marijuana Infused Edibles Processor' is online and can be accessed at https://dor.wa.gov/manage-business/state-endorsements/marijuana.
Is the Decision on my Specialty License Dependent on Anything Besides the Information in my Application?
Applicants will need to possess a business license, a Marijuana Processor license with the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board (WSLCB) - issued through Business Licensing Service, and be approved by WSLCB to add marijuana infused edibles to their Marijuana Processor operating plan.

After application for the MIE Processor license is made, the firm will work with the WSDA Food Safety Program for inspection and approvals, and then return to the WSLCB for final approvals.
How Long Will it Take to Review my Application?
Applications submitted online take an average of 3 to 5 business days. Applications submitted by mail take an average of 7 to 10 business days. WSDA Food Safety Program reviews and inspections may take 4 to 6 weeks. Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board reviews and approvals may take 4 to 6 weeks.
Where do I Submit my Application?
The application is submitted with the Business Licensing Service at https://dor.wa.gov/manage-business/state-endorsements/marijuana. Applications with check or money order payable to Department of Revenue may be mailed to:
    State of Washington
    Business Licensing Service
    PO Box 9034
    Olympia, WA 98507-9034
How Long is my Specialty License Valid?
MIE Processor license is good for one year, and may be prorated at times when the duration is less than a year to align license renewal dates with other licenses.
What is the Appeal Process for the Specialty License?
Upon notice by the Department of Agriculture to deny, revoke, or suspend a license, a person may request a hearing under Chapter 34.05 RCW, the Administrative Procedures Act.
Where can I get permitting assistance?
Helpdesk phone: (360) 902-1876
Subject matter expert phone: (360) 902-1876
Subject matter expert email: foodsafety@agr.wa.gov
Statewide Contact:
Washington State Department of Agriculture
Food Safety Program
1111 Washington Street SE
Olympia, WA 98504
Telephone: (360) 902-1876
Email: foodsafety@agr.wa.gov
Website: http://agr.wa.gov
* Permit information last updated 2/25/2020
[v2]
© 2021 Governor's Office for Regulatory Innovation and Assistance