Office for Regulatory Innovation and Assistance Logo
Information Center (800) 917-0043 or help@oria.wa.gov

Regulatory Handbook -> Telecommunications -> Telecommunications Companies

Telecommunications Companies

(Telecom Company)

What is the Purpose of this Registration?
Allows telecommunications companies that provide telecommunications services for hire, sale, or resale to offer sell services in the state of Washington.
Who Issues this Registration?
Utilities and Transportation Commission
How Much Will this Registration Cost?
There is no application fee. The telecommunications annual regulatory fee is set by statute at one-tenth of one percent of the first fifty thousand dollars of gross intrastate operating revenue plus two-tenths of one percent of any gross intrastate operating revenue in excess of fifty thousand dollars. The minimum regulatory fee a company must pay is $150.
Where Can I Get the Application for this Registration?
The application which is called 'Registration and Competitive Classification of Telecommunications Companies' is online and can be accessed at https://www.utc.wa.gov/regulatedIndustries/utilities/telcom/Pages/register.aspx.
Do I Need to Include Anything with my Application?
A current balance sheet or latest annual report and pro-forma financial statements must be included with the application

Is the Decision on my Registration Dependent on Anything Besides the Information in my Application?
The commission may grant an application for registration without hearing. The commission may deny an application for registration if, after hearing, the commission finds that the application is not consistent with the public interest or that the applicant: failed to provide the performance bond described in RCW 80.36.350 and WAC 480-120-127 if required, does not possess adequate financial resources to provide the proposed service, does not not possess adequate technical competency to provide the proposed service, or if the commission finds that the services or charges offered by the company are not consistent with the public convenience and advantage.
How Long Will it Take to Review my Application?
The commission must take action to approve or issue notice of a hearing concerning any application for registration within 30 days after receiving the application. Currently, registration ranges from 1.1 to 30.1 days. The commission may approve an application with or without a hearing. The commission may deny an application after a hearing.
Where do I Submit my Application?
Please submit application forms via the UTC Records Center Web Portal at: https://www.utc.wa.gov/regulatedIndustries/utilities/telcom/Pages/default.aspx
How Long is my Registration Valid?
The certificate does not expire.
What is the Appeal Process for the Registration?
The commission will not deny an application without a hearing.
Permit Timeliness Results

Permit Timeliness data collection is in response to a State Auditor’s Performance Audit and RCW 43.42A. Each regulatory agency developed a plan to improve permit clarity, predictability, and timeliness. Each agency considers the customers experience to ensure permit assistance is simple to use, easy to access, and designed in a customer-friendly manner. Agencies report progress to the Governor’s Office for Regulatory Innovation and Assistance (ORIA). ORIA prepares and distributes reports, with participation from the State Auditor’s Office and Results Washington. See latest report here: https://www.oria.wa.gov/ORIA-2018-PermitTimelinessProgressReport.pdf.

All permits submitted for reporting were entered into this Regulatory Handbook. Here are the results of the performance data:

Estimated Time Required By the Agency to Process a Permit Application (Definition)
Average number of days from Receipt to Complete: 23
Maximum number of days from Receipt to Complete: 40

Estimated Time Required By the Agency to Issue a Permit Decision (Definition)
Average number of days from Complete Application to Decision: 23
Maximum number of days from Complete Application to Decision: 40

(Summary results based on 6 submittals in 2020)

Where can I get permitting assistance?
Helpdesk phone: 360-664-1222
Subject matter expert phone: Licensing Services, 360-664-1222
Subject matter expert email: transportation@utc.wa.gov
Statewide Contact:
Utilities and Transportation Commission
Licensing Services
621 Woodland Square Loop SE
PO Box 47250, Olympia WA 98504-7250
Lacey, WA 98503
Telephone: (360) 664-1222
Email: transportation@utc.wa.gov
Website: http://www.utc.wa.gov
* Permit information last updated 12/15/2020
[v2]
© 2021 Governor's Office for Regulatory Innovation and Assistance