Office for Regulatory Innovation and Assistance Logo
Information Center (800) 917-0043 or help@oria.wa.gov

Regulatory Handbook -> Pesticide and Fertilizer Permits -> Private Commercial Applicator License

Private Commercial Applicator License

What is the Purpose of this License?
The purpose is to license persons who apply restricted use pesticides to their own or their employer's land, property, or materials for a purpose other than the production of an agricultural commodity.

If applying pesticides for agricultural purposes, see Private Applicator License.
Who Issues this License?
Washington State Department of Agriculture
What Activities Require this License?
Application of restricted use pesticides to land, property, or materials owned or rented by applicator or applicator's employer for a purpose other than the production of an agricultural commodity.
How Much Will this License Cost?
The license costs $33. In addition, the applicant must pay a $25 testing fee each time they take pesticide exams.
Do I Need to Include Anything with my Application?
Applications are completed at the time of testing. The first time an application is submitted in a calendar year, the license fee of $33 is required. Each time tests are taken, a $25 testing fee and picture ID is required.
Is the Decision on my License Dependent on Anything Besides the Information in my Application?
Because exams are required, you must make your initial application at a WSDA testing session. These are offered at a number of statewide testing locations. WSDA does reciprocate with some state and federal licenses so testing may not be necessary. Go to the online reciprocal licensing information for details.
How Long Will it Take to Review my Application?
Once all requirements have been met (complete application submitted including fee and appropriate exams passed), the license is normally issued within 1 week. However, the work unit experiences a heavier than normal workload from December - March and licenses can take 2 - 4 weeks to issue.
Where do I Submit my Application?
Because exams are required, you must make your initial application at a WSDA testing session. These are offered at a number of statewide testing locations.
How Long is my License Valid?
The license is renewed annually but in a 5-year recertification cycle. Within the 5 year recertification cycle, the licensee must gain 40 continuing education credits with a maximum of 15 credits per year or retest.

An alternative to recertification is to retest every 5 years.
What is the Appeal Process for the License?
After a second, third, or fourth failure in a calendar year, there is a mandatory 14-day waiting period between exam retakes. After the fifth failure, you must wait 60 days before retesting.

Upon notice by the Department to deny, suspend, or revoke a license, a person may request a hearing under chapter 34.05 RCW, the Administrative Procedures Act.
Notes / Comments:
Because exams are required, you must make your initial application at a WSDA testing session. These are offered at a number of statewide testing locations.

Within the 5 year recertification cycle, the licensee must gain 40 continuing education credits with a maximum of 15 credits per year or retest.
Where can I get permitting assistance?
Helpdesk phone: 877-301-4555
Subject matter expert phone: Rickie Johnson (360) 902-2039
Subject matter expert email: license@agr.wa.gov
Statewide Contact:
Washington State Department of Agriculture
Registration and Licensing Services
1111 Washington Street SE, NRB - 2nd Fl
PO Box 42589
Olympia, WA 98504-2589
Fax: (360) 902-2093
Toll Free: 1-877-301-4555
Email: license@agr.wa.gov
Website: https://agr.wa.gov/departments/pesticides-and-fertilizers/fertilizers/product-registration
* Permit information last updated 11/18/2019
[v2]
© 2021 Governor's Office for Regulatory Innovation and Assistance